25 Day Project Part 1

I thought that by the time I reached my twenties, my fascination for calligraphic quotes and mantras would fade. However when you look at my wall you’ll find a collection of printed quotes and mantras my sisters made me during the harder part of my fight with endometriosis. Now it’s my time to get learn this skill for my own sake and to create gifts for people who benefit from the written script.

One image for each day

Challenges I Faced

The first challenge I faced was improper materials. I had asked my sister for her calligraphy tutorial playlist and they all use a specific felt liquid pen. Using only graphite pencils, I can’t get the smoothness and boldness I am looking for. I also really struggle with proportionate sizing of letters within the same word. I am working to be more creative in my additional elements and style choices as it will aid me in emphasizing the message of the pieces I am working on.

What have I learned or improved on this week?

This week, I have improved in my line work and shading skills. As the week went on, I noticed I felt more confident as I worked, which I believe translated into adding elements I wasn’t before and allowing myself to take up more space on the page.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *